Under age driving!

Do you like to drive fast? Do you like to race cars? Then I’ve got something for you to try, go-carting. Go-carting is a fun sport. There are  different ways to go-cart. There are indoor and outdoor go-cart tracks, and there are gas or electric options. Some facilities offer a single rider cart  and a double cart for little riders not yet old enough to drive. I prefer to go indoor racing because you don’t have to worry about the bright sun in your eyes or rain on the track. You also don’t have to worry about the temperature, indoors is always open. I prefer the electric go carts. Electric don’t give off the gas fumes that can make riders nauseous. My mom doesn’t like to go with me when the carts are gas, she gets sick from all the fumes and driving in circles.

my favorite place to go kart

Ice Go-karting - PaulCreative Commons License Hash Milhan via Compfight

I started go-carting when I was four years old while on vacation in Florida. I was not old enough to drive the go-carts so my dad drove. It was a rainy day so we couldn’t go to the beach. My mom had to just watch us that trip because she was pregnant with my little sister. My mom isn’t much of a go-cart fan. She doesn’t like to drive fast, gets car sick from all the stop and go on the track, and nauseous from the smell. Go-carting is way more fun for me and my dad. When I turned 8 I got to start driving myself. My first race was against my dad. My mom rode with me and my sister rode with my dad. My dad beat me the first time. The second race I took the lead in the first lap and didn’t let my dad pass me. It was fun to see the man wave the checkered flag when I won the race.

go carts

chequered flagCreative Commons License Tharrin via Compfight

The last time I went with my dad in Florida we raced three times. The first time we raced with a group of people we didn’t know.  Those guys didn’t follow the rules and kept wrecking their carts into me, their friends, and the walls. I couldn’t pass anyone because they were too aggressive. The next two races I won because it was just me and my dad on the track. My dad took the lead early, but I was able to catch up to him  and then I started drafting to slingshot around his cart. He was not very happy when I did that at the last minute to beat him. My next go-carting race will be this weekend. I am having some friends race with me for my birthday. I can’t wait to see who wins!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *